TP Home | About | Newsletter | Blogs |

Best Paint and primer combo for my kitchen cupboards

(issyryan) #1

Hi Guys,
First can I say what a great help it’s been to read all the posts here for various other jobs and in planning my Kitchen!
So, I’ve been fixing to paint my Kitchen Cupboards for some time now after pretty much painting every other inch of the house, and I’m ready to get going, pretty much just looking for opinions on best paint system and materials.
I’m not an expert diy’er by any means, but have some skills now, having painted most of a 3 bedroom cottage in and out over last few months, including some large fitted wardrobes using Bin primer and Little Green Tom’s Oil Eggshell, to a good result (in my opinion anyway!).
The cupboards in question are wood veneer – kitchen is probably 20 years old or so, and needs a little fixing here and there with hinges etc, but generally in pretty good nick. I’ve 4 drawers, 2 corner cabinets, 5 regular doors and 2 glass doors to do – so it’s not a massive job per se.
I Plan to:

• Remove doors
  • Clean with Krud Cutter or Zinsser degreaser, whichever I can get my hands on.
  • Sand lightly, probably manually (I went at them with brill pads some time ago - most likely ill advised, but nonetheless, resulting in a lot of the sheen having been removed)
  • Prime x 1 coat with mini foam rollers on larger surfaces (Bin/coverstain Or Otex) hopefully tinted to match – am going with a dusky pink type colour
  • Very light sanding rub down
  • 2 x hand painted top coats (Little Greene Tom’s Oil Egshell or water based or Mylands Egshell.
  • Plan on using my Picasso Bull 1.5” if going with the water based or likely a combo of a 1.5” synthetic pointed sash brush I have that I like (generic) and a 2.5” Wooster Alpha Angled sash if using oil. ( I might roller the first coat and paint the second - I did this with a wardrobe and it worked well)