TP Home | About | Newsletter | Blogs |

Ceros sander which one?

(andybury) #1

Hi Guys
I need advice with which one to buy 125mm or 150mm and whats the orbital option?

My background is a general painter and decorator and been using the Mirka Abranet hand system for some time and now decided to up my game to the Ceros system.

Can you get the Ceros without the transformer or is that the Deros?

Does the transformer get in the way?

Many Thanks
Andy
Its all very confusing???

(Martin Guest) #2

Hey Andy!

The DEROS comes with both backing plates (125mm and 150mm)… the CEROS comes with a transformer - the DEROS doesn’t… I had a CEROS and now run a DEROS. For my money I would definitely go the DEROS route; much more comfortable then the CEROS and not having a transformer to bulk around makes it very portable.

The general use orbit option is 5mm (I could be wrong).

Hope that this helps!?

All the best!

(andybury) #3

Hi Martin
Thanks Martin, is there only one model of Deros and does £369.95 soud about right price wise. Just need to get it right as it a pricey sander.
Andy

(Martin Guest) #4

There is only one model (I believe), but there are a couple of purchase options; the DEROS5650CV is the model; with the two different sizes of backing plate (125mm and 150mm) and the DEROS650CV has only the 150mm.

I initially coupled my CEROS to the Mirka 915 extractor, but found it too bulky (it did work very well though). I now run a FESTOOL CTL Mini with my DEROS, Festool RO90 and Festool RTS 400 - what extractor are you using?

Hi Andy
Excuse me for jumping in, yes there is only one model of DEROS as the base plates are changeable unlike the CEROS, you have to buy a new sander if you want a different size, 77, 125 or 150mm.