TP Home | About | Newsletter | Blogs |

Difference between exterior paint finishes?

(DavidJ) #1

Easy question here I suspect, but I don’t know the answer for sure so I’m going to ask…

Have some outside coming up, customer has asked me whether I’d recommend gloss, Matt or semi-Matt. Normally I’d just say they should pick whichever they like the look of best. But is there a “best”?

I’ve read here before that one person considered gloss best as it will resist dirt the most. Is this the only reason for picking gloss? Are there any other reasons for picking a different finish?

Customer wants F&B, but I’m going to try and steer her towards getting her colour mixed in Tikkurila Valtti with Otex undercoat for a more lasting finish, and see how that goes.

All free advice appreciated.

(RJ Taylor Decoration Ltd) #2

I have been using water based paint on exteriors for many years but I recently painted a set of fire station doors in Tikkurila Otex and Unica and found both products to be excellent to apply with superior coverage. I dont do many exteriors anymore but I would certainly look at the system I used. Tikkurila do a lot of exterior product so its worth a chat with Holmans Paint before you buy.

Water based products I’ve had the best results with over the years are Sadolin Superdec and Dulux Weathershield Aquatech Opaque, both cover well and do last. The Superdec comes in gloss and satin but the Dulux is a satin only.

Oil gloss is by far the most dirt resistant of any exterior product and Sikkens AZ is the best I’ve ever used.

(DavidJ) #3

Thanks Ron for your reply. I did have a chat with the guy at Holmans and he recommended the Tikkurila Valtti Ultra. I know this comes in Matt, semi-Matt or gloss. I also said to my customer that it’s a good idea to get the finish close to that of their windows, which they’re having replaced and will come painted. I guess on that basis the gloss would be the ideal.