TP Home | About | Newsletter | Blogs |

How did you enter trade were you self taught or college route?

(darlic) #1

Hi fellow decorators ,how did you enter the decorating trade were you self taught ,
or did you go down college, route ?just interested to hear where we all started?

(pd67) #2

I had a 4 year apprenticeship and doing a C&G adv certificate at same time.
I had a great boss very old school but taught me a lot.

(darlic) #3

Once you get the decorating bug ,it never leaves you,and you meet some great people
along the way,myself a bit of college,but had a passion very early,done lots of painting,
in the marine game.I always strive to do better than the last painter,study/practice/and
work hard.

(tehomas ) #4

if you have no previous formal training but you possess the skills you can go down the able skills route and go and get tested on your knowledge and if you pass you will receive the necessary qualifications i believe. there are a lot of older people out there who are time served with a company but have far more knowledge than a nvq just out of collage guy .
so if some one wants to pursue a career in decorating it would be worth while imo to go down that route as many company’s will only hire nvq decorators

(darlic) #5

Hi teho do you no anyone that has been to able skills dartford?

(tehomas ) #6

hi darlic no sorry i dont

(Andy Crichton) #7

For what it is worth, I gained an Advanced Craft City and Guilds with 2 distinctions and a Merit in the early 80’s. However, apart from my lecturer and me, the only person in the trade who ever really cared was a college HR when I enquired about part time teaching.

In decorating, I think it is probably right to have a healthy dose of cynicism about levels of formal education in decorating, because there is a long term trend for shorter and shallower courses, studying weeks not years, hours not days!