TP Home | About | Newsletter | Blogs |

Making good around new chased-in light switch

(DavidJ) #1

There should be an image attached here, apologies if it doesn’t come up.

A customer has asked me if it’s possible to make good around their new light switch and chasing, backfilled with bonding and smeared around their textured painted wallpaper. Old house, various textures of wallpaper, some of which they would rather not have to strip and reline just to accommodate a few new light switches and power sockets. Understandable, and they’re not expecting it to be perfect.

Now, I’ve never done this before, but I don’t see why it can’t be done. My question is, am I overreaching? Don’t really want to have to go back after bodging it and ask for money to strip and reline the whole room though…

My view is, with enough work and attention to detail, pretty much most things can be achieved.

I’m thinking clean the bonding off the wallpaper with a fine tool, scrape down areas of unevenness. Hmm, in fact I’ll have to take a couple of mm off all the bonding, like a dentist preparing for a crown, then skim with easifill to provide a smooth surface, sand that back so the paper sits level, then seal the filler (Beeline?).

But then I’ll need to splice in a patch, but it’s probably best to do this dry, because the old paper underneath will cut more easily that way. I might risk not getting it perfect because the splice will expand when wet, but then it should also contract when dry, and paint plus perhaps some judicious use of caulk should fill any gaps.

I’m making this up as I go along, and I hope it doesn’t horrify anyone, but someone must have done this before!

Grateful for any pointers offered to this relatively inexperienced decorator.

(DavidJ) #2

Okay that’s only one of the pictures I attached, but you get the idea.

(Andy Crichton) #3