TP Home | About | Newsletter | Blogs |

Painting Floorboards - Solvent or Water Based?

(juliahamson) #1

Hello,

I am an architect often looking to specify the right paint for the right job, and DIY enthusiast, and have read the informative forum discussions on your website with interest and appreciation.

My question relates to painting floorboards and what sort of paint - water based or solvent based you would recommend. I am looking to paint over the white timber floorboards in my Georgian home. When I painted the floors 3 years ago I used white Farrow & Ball primer and floor paint, and while I enjoyed the speed at which it dried, I have been disappointed by how it has aged (it chips and flakes off quite easily), and it is now leaned too far towards the ‘shabby’ side of ‘shabby-chic’!

I have read with interest your previous topics about how to achieve an oil based finish with water based paint by ensuring good prep and base coats, and also your notes about the incompatibility of other primers with F&B floor paint, so it seems perhaps oil is the way to go to achieve a good finish without loads of labour intensive prep?

I am not concerned about fumes, (I will do the work in the summer and have good cross ventilation and no children), and I can work around the longer drying times between coats.

My concern is will white modern oil paints yellow overtime? I have F&B Estate eggshell on my skirtings so it currently matches the floor well, and am worried that over time there will be a noticeable difference?

Also, of the various solvent based floor paints on the market - Dulux Floorsheield or Johnstones Flortred, or Little Green Oil Based Floor paint - do you have any reviews or thoughts?

Kind Regards,
Julia

(Andy Crichton) #2

Hi Julia

thanks for your question, and glad you have found the info on the site useful.