TP Home | About | Newsletter | Blogs |

Wallpaper in a Bathroom

(DavidJ) #1

Hello. Went to see a customer yesterday who wants wallpaper in her bathroom 8O Thankfully, just a feature wall. I’ve got no issue with this, apart from I’ve never done it before so don’t want her calling me back in six months saying it’s peeling off!

Her bathroom was plastered a year ago and remains unpainted. She has bought vinyl wallpaper and a spray can of sealant to apply on top.

The plasterer, I think, has applied a second set to the sloping ceiling above the feature wall, and the PVA he’s used can be seen in a shiny band running along the top of the feature wall. With lots of drips. Not sure if this would be an issue.

I’m thinking seal the plaster (and why not all of it?) with Halls Primer Sealer, cross-line, seal that too. Paint out in acrylic eggshell. Hang her wallpaper then apply her spray. Cross fingers.

Is there anything I’ve missed?

(Andy Crichton) #2

Sand out any imperfections and use the Primer Sealer for the feature wall before lining and papering.

Not sure you want to be lining the whole bathroom, unless the plastering is that bad? If it is poorly skimmed, I would be suggesting skimming with Toupret TX120/130 and sanding it to a beautiful finish. Adds a day to an average bathroom, I would think, but the plastering should be up to snuff to not need any more work doing beyond a de-nib, sealer and 2 topcoats.

With sealing over vinyl paper, again, I dont get that. Over a pulp paper maybe, but vinyl is impervious anyway?

(DavidJ) #3

Hi Andy. Thanks for your comments.

No, I’m not planning to line the whole bathroom. Just wanted to recommend to the customer that she have her feature area lined, though it’s often difficult to get agreement on this, in my experience.

The walls are fine, so I’d probably just seal them then put a first coat on before filling and sanding, just to make it easier to see defects.