TP Home | About | Newsletter | Blogs |

Whether to paint doors hanging or flat - cant decide whats best

(wrenbird) #1

Hi - I’m a beginner taking on painting my own kitchen. I’m still confused despite all the advice here as to whether I should be painting my unit doors flat - as I see laid out on lots on posts here - or hanging on their hinges.

If flat then I assume I can only paint one side on any day and not sure how I’ll be able to keep a large enough area pristine to fit all the doors and drawers laid out flat for the duration of the job as I think I might not manage 3-4 minutes a door.

If I understand Russ’s post correctly, I can paint frames and back edges of doors and rehang them before painting each coat front and back in one go in situ. So does that mean all 4 coats - primer to topcoat - to frame and back edge before rehanging? I can’t find any pics showing a half way stage like this but this would suit my space better.

Also - How do you avoid problems with the edges with either method.

My kitchen is new wood/MDF and my utility room old oak kitchen units cleaned back with Krudkutter. I’m planning to use a Zinsser primer, LG tinted undercoat, 2 coasts LG oil eggshell.

I hope someone can set me straight - I want to get it all clear in my head before I start.
Thanks
Wrenbird

(Andy Crichton) #2

If you post a picture of each type of door (new and oak) so we can see the hinge it may be easier to advise. otherwise you are on track with paint choice. Avoiding paint build up on edges is a matter of taking care, having a small “dry” brush handy is helpful if you see any ridges in wet paint, along with eyes on stalks. I’m sure Russ will pop by to clarify too.

(RJ Taylor Decoration Ltd) #3

I think Russ may be refering to the new style European hinges that lever out when the door opens, These are easily refitted with 2 screws whilst supporting the doors. Standard 3 screw brass hinges will be a pain to keep taking on and off.