TP Home | About | Newsletter | Blogs |

Caparol NAST; first impression

As before, I start by stating I am new to XVLP and spraying in general. This review is about my first use of Caparol NAST paint designed to work with XVLP machines. I imagine it would also work with HVLP, but I cannot be 100% on that. The definition of NAST is basically mist free, which keeps masking to a minimum. It is the primary reason I chose the Wagner 5000 XVLP.

I bought the Haftprimer NAST and PU Satin NAST from Paintshack, the guys there are supportive and very generous with their time and advice. Steve has been advising me on settings, drying times, amongst other things.

• There is a normal version of these paints for brush or roller.

First, I had a lot of rails, spindles and skirting boards to paint. I had sanded and cleaned them, so masking was next. I used a mixture of film and paper; both were pre-taped. One little tip when using this masking medium; use tape around your area first, I prefer 3M. It is easier to apply tape, then apply the film or paper on top. Yes, you are masking twice, but it is much faster this way because getting the paper around internal and external corners can be fiddly. It is my preference and only a suggestion. I have always done this when protecting delicate areas in buildings and find I achieve better coverage in less time.

The paint is thinner than usual, compared to Helmi it is water-like. That is not a criticism just an observation. Mist-free spraying clearly requires lighter paint. The odour is very low, I was pleased by this. It is water-based too, which I really like because cleaning is very easy.

On the first attempt, I set the product flow at four and the air at two. I did adjust up and down on those settings. I had a quick chat with Steve at Paintshack, and he said I was erring on the cautious side. The resulting finish was acceptable, but it did take more time than I envisaged. He said eight on both was his starting point!