TP Home | About | Newsletter | Blogs |

Trust levels explained

There are 5 trust levels incorporated into the Discussion Board user base. The highest level is admin, the first level, 0, is brand new members.

Every new member is a potential future admin, but as we all know, there are some who don’t respect other people’s property, so, trust has to be earned across the board.

Anyone can browse the site and search and view images without having to login.

New users at Trust Level 0

New users are visitors who just created an account, logged in and want to contribute in some way. They are still learning the ropes and how the forum works. Whether accidentally, or intentionally, new users can cause problems.

We also want to hide any so-called “advanced” functionality from new users to make the UI less confusing for them. Get the hang of the basics and then gently land you on the deeper UI.

New users’ abilities are restricted for safety – both yours and ours. The software accounts for time spent on forum, what is read and opened and for how long users are reading; replies, favourites, posts flagged and all sorts are collated… the second you meet the criteria for a certain trust level, you get a note and new things happen for you.

New Users at trust level 0 cannot….

Send private messages to other users
Reply as new topic in the right gutter (UI removed)
Flag posts
Post any images
Post any attachments
Post more than 2 hyperlinks in a post
Have actual links in the ‘About me’ field of their profile (You should add a link ASAP, but it will be silently and temporarily converted to plain text till you graduate!)
Mention more than 2 users in a post

Basic users at Trust Level 1

If you login and stick around long enough to read a bit, we can trust you as a Trust Level 1 basic user.

To get to this trust level 1,

open at least 5 topics
read at least 30 posts overall
spend a total of 10 minutes reading posts

You will then be able to use all core functions
Upload images and attachments if enabled
Edit wiki posts
Flag posts
have all new user restrictions removed

Regular Users at Trust Level 2

Regulars keep coming back to the site, and have participated long enough to earn complete citizenship, so to speak.

You can get to trust level 2 by…

visiting at least 15 days, not necessarily on consecutive days
casting at least 1 like
receiving at least 1 like
replying to at least 3 different topics
opening at least 20 topics
reading at least 100 posts
spending a total of 60 minutes reading posts

Users at trust level 2 can…

Use the “Invite others to this topic” button for one-click onboarding of new users to participate in topics
Invite outside users to PMs making a group PM

Leaders at Trust Level 3

Leader are the most active readers and reliable contributors over long periods of time.

They can get to trust level 3 by meeting certain criteria…

This is time and activity based, and, unlike the previous levels, getting to Trust Level 3 is one thing and staying there is another! You can lose the trust level if you abandon the site for long periods of time.

So, in the last 100 days, you…

must have visited at least 50% of days
must have replied to at least 10 different topics
of topics created in the last 100 days, must have viewed 25%
of posts created in the last 100 days, must have read 25%
must have received 20 likes, and given 30 likes.*
must not have received more than 5 spam or offensive flags (with unique posts and unique users for each, confirmed by a moderator)
must not have been suspended

  • These likes must be across a minimum number of different users (1/5 the number), across a minimum number of different days (1/4 the number). Likes cannot be from PMs.

All of these must be true.

Unlike other trust levels, you can lose trust level 3 status. If you dip below these requirements, whether from flagging or the passage of time, you will be demoted to Level 2. However, in order to avoid constant promotion/demotion situations, there is a 2-week grace period immediately after gaining Trust Level 3 during which you will not be demoted.

Users at trust level 3 can…

recategorize and rename topics
access a private “frequent flier’s lounge” only visible to users at trust level 3 and higher
have all their links followed (we remove automatic no follows)

Elders at Trust level 4

Traditional Painters are Trust Level 4 regulars who have been around forever and seen everything. They set a positive example for the community through their actions and their posts. If you need advice, these are the folks you turn to first.

You can also get to trust level 4 by…

Manual promotion!

We look closely at quality of contributions: site and topic promotion: invites, accepted invites, external links followed.

Users at trust level 4 can…

edit all posts
pin/unpin topic
close topic
archive topic
make topic invisible
Split and merge topics

At Level 4 you can possibly become moderators by… manual appointment by another moderator.