TP Home | About | Newsletter | Blogs |

Wagner XVLP 5000 - early review

Hi all

I am giving some feedback on my Wagner XVLP 5000 after using it several times during lockdown.

First, I am new to spraying for decorating, I did some car spraying with a traditional “old-time” sprayer and have tried to move some of that experience into this sphere. I welcome all comments from the more experienced sprayers on here and admit I am still learning as I go.

I like the design of the unit; there is the central turbine unit, a removable hose which connects in turn to different guns, and the spray guns themselves. The turbine is light and portable so moving between areas is easy.

In the kit, you get a standard spray and a Fine Finish gun. I managed to get a Wall Spray Gun as I wanted to spray some walls. The supplier said the standard spray works with emulsion, and I confirm it does, but you will require some dilution to achieve a decent finish. That is why I went with a wall spray version, which does work well. I will try and explain it a bit more later in this post.

The gun has two control settings. On the front dial, you select the product flow, levels one up to twelve. On the rear, there is the airflow control, which runs from one to ten. I will later add some of my settings. The nozzle offers a vertical or horizontal pattern, together with a width setting of the pattern from narrow to wide.

Okay, so this was purchased for doors, ornate woodwork, panels, and stair spindles, to name a few. However, I wanted it for small walls and my hope it would handle both. I am pleased to say it does!

The gun has a 1.4-litre pot for the wallspray gun and a 1-litre pot for the other guns. I will say now; I wouldn’t say I like the 1.4 version; it is plastic and not the easiest to clean. The smaller pots are stainless steel and more comfortable to clean. On this point, the whole gun setup can feel heavy when you have to hold it up for an extended period.